Lucija Stilinović


  pic ls Lucija Stilinovic

Croatian flutist Lucija Stilinović is an active orchestral and solo musician based in New York City. The Second Prize recipient (and top flutist) of the 2019 Serge & Olga Koussevitsky Young Artist Awards, Ms. Stilinović’s solo recital today on the Musicians Club of New York’s concert series is part of her prize.

Ms. Stilinović made her European debut in 2018 as a concerto soloist with the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra in a homecoming performance to much acclaim. She was also the winner of the 2016 British Flute Society Young Artist Competition, and was invited to perform in the BFS Flutastique Festival in London that same year.

Ms. Stilinović has performed in masterclasses with soloists such as Emmanuel Pahud, Sir James Galway, Karl-Heinz Schuetz, Philippe Bernold, Peter-Lukas Graf, and Andrea Lieberknecht. She has performed under the baton of eminent conductors such as Leonard Slatkin, Kazushi Ono, Jane Glover, and George Manahan.

Ms. Stilinović holds degrees from the Academy of Music, University of Zagreb, Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp, and is currently pursuing a second Master’s Degree at the Manhattan School of Music with Robert Langevin. She has attended Utrecht Conservatorium in The Netherlands as an exchange student, and was a Scholar of the International Music Academy in the Principality of Liechtenstein.

In addition to modern flute, Ms. Stilinović enjoys playing the traverso flute, which she learned from Rachel Brown and Wilbert Hazelzet, and has performed with Ensemble Melisse at the Utrecht Early Music Festival.


The Musicians Club of New York's Concert Series: December 8, 2019, Victor Borge Hall, Scandinavia House, New York City. Presenting Lucija Stilinović, flute and Jojo Yan, piano, in the Winner's Concert of Lucija Stilinovic, Flute. Ms. Stilinovic is the Second Prize Winner of the 2019 Serge & Olga Koussevitzky Young Artist Awards for woodwinds/brass.

00:44 Per Brevig introduction

01:42 Variations on Trockne Blumen, op. post. 160, D 802 by Franz Schubert (1797-1828) 

22:42 La Merle Noir by Olivier Messiaen (1908- 1992) 

28:52 Lenski’s Aria from Eugene Onegin by P.I. Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) (arr. G. Braunstein) 

34:46 Prelude to the afternoon of a faun by Claude Debussy (1862-1918) 

Concerto for flute and piano by Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978) (arr. J.P. Rampal) 

44:12 I. Allegro con fermezza 

Le Rire de Saraï Guillaume Connesson (1970-) 

58:55 I. La plainte d’ Agar 

1:05:14 II. Bénédiction de l’ Alliance 

1:09 Per Brevig chat with artists. Video by Paula and Chris Argondizza.