Chris Wong

Flute, 2019 Serge & Olga Koussevitzky Young Artist Awards Third Prize

  pic cw chris wong more light

A native of Hong Kong, flutist Chris Wong has given performances throughout Asia, North America and Europe. A passionate soloist, Wong has experience from giving solo recitals in small school venues to performing in the Kodak Theater with the Eastman Orchestra as the winner of the Eastman School of Music Triennial Flute Concerto Competition. In addition, Wong is the first prize winner of the Tallon Perkes Memorial Flute Competition at Eastman, and prize winner of the Jefferson Symphony International Young Artist Competition and the Serge & Olga Koussevitzky Young Artist Award.

As an active orchestral musician, Wong has performed with the New York Philharmonic, New York String Orchestra, The Juilliard Symphony, among others. He has participated in festivals such as Orford Music, Hamamatsu International Wind Instrument Academy and Festival, etc. And has appeared in masterclasses with Julien Beaudiment, Shigenori Kudo, Ian Clarke and Marina Piccinini.

Wong is currently pursuing his Master of Music degree at The Juilliard School under the tutelage of Robert Langevin, and is a proud recipient of a Kovner Fellowship. Prior to Juilliard, he graduated from the Interlochen Arts Academy in 2014 with a Music Award in Flute Performance, and the Eastman School of Music in 2018 with high distinction, along with the prestigious Performer’s Certificate. His teachers include Bonita Boyd, Nancy Stagnitta and Brian Chan.

The Musicians Club of New York's Concert Series: February 22, 2020, Victor Borge Hall, Scandinavia House, New York City. Presenting Chris Wong, flute, and Brian Wong, piano, in Chris Wong's Winner's Recital. Chris Wong is the Third Prize Winner of the 2019 Serge & Olga Koussevitzky Young Artist Awards for woodwinds/brass.
Concerto No. 2 for Flute and Orchestra, K. 314, by W. A. Mozart (1756 – 1791)
    01:15 I. Allegro aperto
    08:59 II. Adagio ma non troppo
    15:21 III. Rondo. Allegro
21:27 Fantasie on the themes from "Der Freischutz" by Paul Taffanel (1844 – 1908)
34:29 Introduction to Takemitsu's Voice
35:23 Voice Toru Takemitsu (1930 – 1996)
Sonata for Violin and Piano (arr. for flute) Gabriel Fauré
    41:45 I. Allegro molto (1845 – 1924 )
    49:20 II. Andante
    57:02 III. Allegro vivo
    1:01:20 IV. Allegro quasi presto
1:07:38 Chat with Per Brevig, President
Video by Paula and Chris Argondizza.